Tags

Even though I am a self-proclaimed bibliophile/ aspiring writer/ voracious reader, I am still surprised by the amount of books that I own.  I seem to unconsciously acquire novels…  Last time I checked, I had 356 books in my personal library.  Since then, I have received both F. Buechner’s The Magnificent Defeat and G. Márquez’s One Hundred Years of Solitude as gifts and I have purchased T. Pratchett’s The Wee Free Men and L. Groff’s Arcadia.  I oftentimes promise myself that I won’t buy any more books until I have read every book I own – but this is a promise that is broken at least four times per year.  I would estimate that I have read a little under 2/3 of my personal library.

I would like to assume that the sheer amount of time I have spent reading, writing, and studying Literature qualifies me to make up a little list of books that I would recommend to those who share my particular interests in regards to reading.

This is a short list of some of my favorite books.  In it, you will notice Fantasy, Science Fiction, Classics, Horror, YAL, and more.  Fantasy is my favorite genre, closely followed by Science Fiction.  Every once in awhile, I like to pick up a dark fantasy or horror story.  On the other hand, a couple books on this list could be described as nothing more than silly!  You will notice quite a few examples of Young Adult Literature on this list.  This is partly because I started collecting books at a young age and partly because I think you are never too old to learn something from or simply enjoy a children’s novel.

Douglas Adams: The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy

This book is a silly romp through space; funny and refreshing.

Anne Bishop: Daughter of the Blood

A great example of dark fantasy. This book is the first of the Black Jewels Trilogy.

Ray Bradbury: Fahrenheit 451

Just read it.

Poppy Z. Brite: Wormwood

A unique collection of short stories in the gothic and erotic horror genre.  These tales will both intrigue and disgust. 

Charlotte Brontë: Jane Eyre

A classic. 

Dia Calhoun: Firegold

A great example of children’s fantasy and the only novel I’ve ever been able to convince my father to read.

Orson S. Card: Speaker for the Dead

I highly recommend the Ender’s Game series by this author.  “Speaker for the Dead” was my favorite book in the series. 

Paulo Coelho: The Alchemist

Inspiring. 

Roald Dahl: Witches

Absolutely hilarious!

Samuel R. Delany: Nova

If Science Fiction and Fantasy had a child – this book would be it.

Alexandre Dumas: The Three Musketeers

Another classic with lots of swordplay and chivalry. 

Warren Fahy: Fragment

Similar to Jurassic Park but with more ecology involved; a quick and easy read.

Frank Herbert: Dune

Often hailed as the best Science Fiction book ever written.  Plan to spend some time on this one.

Brian Jacques: Mattimeo

The Redwall series by Brian Jacques (RIP) consumed much of my childhood.  This was my favorite book in the series. 

Robert C. O’Brien: The Secret of Nimh

I couldn’t tell you why I enjoy this children’s book (and movie) so much.

George Orwell: 1984

Political, but not boring; something to make you think.

Ayn Rand: Anthem

This will make you redefine and contemplate your sense of individuality.

Salman Rushdie: Haroun & The Sea of Stories

If I had to pick a “favorite book,” this might be it.

RA Salvatore: Legend of Drizzt Do’Urden series

THE BEST FANTASY SERIES I HAVE EVER READ, HANDS DOWN.

Shakespeare: Richard III

My favorite Shakespeare play. “A horse, a horse! My kingdom for a horse!”

J.R.R. Tolkein: The Lord of the Rings trilogy

How could this not appear in my list? The title of my blog is a LOTR reference. I even have a tattoo in elvish.  A word of advice: immerse yourself in Tolkein’s world. I consider it a crime to go through life without reading this series!

