Tags

, ,

Like thousands of children my age, I was swept into the Pokémon phenomenon at a young age.  I wondered why I couldn’t be like Ash and journey from home at age 12 to make cute little animals fight until one of them faints from fatigue.  But the Pokémon craze never wore off for me.  I collected the cards, watched the anime, bought the action figures, played Pokémon Stadium for Nintendo64 with my friends, and played Blue Version religiously.  After a long hiatus from Pikachu and the gang, I realized I would never be too old to play the game and bought Sapphire Version for Gameboy Advanced.  That game led to the purchases of Emerald, Fire Red, Leaf Green, Soul Silver, and finally White Version (I actually received White Version as a gift for my 21st birthday)! I even have a few Pokémon shirts that I wear once in awhile.  During my senior year of college, I discovered Pokémon XD: Gale of Darkness and Pokémon Colosseum for Gamecube.  They weren’t very in depth, but they were easy and fun games great for passing the time during an Indiana winter.

As I’ve gotten older, I’ve found another way to enjoy these strange Japanese creatures: artwork.  I’ve always done my own artwork as a hobby; cartoons and anime are my main interests.  In December 2011 I had the thought that it might be fun to try and draw all 151 original Pokémon. I’ve been working on this little project for about 7 months now and I have 99 of the little guys done.  Below is an example of how I depict my cartoons.

So if there are any 20-somethings out there still playing Pokémon games, know that you aren’t alone!

Image

