Tags

,

soupThis soup is a cleverly disguised (and tasty) way of eating a whole lot of onions. You’ll find there’s not much else in the recipe. I picked this particular recipe because I’m fighting a cold and I figured it would help. Keep in mind you’ll need an immersion blender for this recipe.

 

My Thoughts

Don’t expect to be in flavor country with this recipe. It’s good but bland. Surprisingly filling, the soup gave me energy and helped clear out my sinuses. I recommend serving it piping hot. While eating it, I couldn’t help but think of Stanley and Zero from the book Holes.

The Recipe

Click here for the recipe I used.

I underestimated just how long it would take to sauté 8 onions (WOW). I recommend separating them out into a few different pans and cooking them simultaneously. The directions say to take the celery out before serving, but I personally like celery in my soup. When you make the toppings (more onions + cilantro) I recommend sautéing the onions until they are crunchy.

Health Benefits

When I searched online for “health benefits of onions,” I found a lot of words I didn’t know, like “quercetin,” “flavonoid,” and “allium.” But every source agreed on one thing: the onion (allium cepa) is one of the world’s healthiest foods.

The allium family contains onions, garlic, chives, shallots, leeks, and scallions – all common soup ingredients. Anyway, what I was interested in was boosting my immune system. Turns out, the phytochemicals in onions improve how your body uses Vitamin C, thus improving your immunity! Even better, onions can cure fevers, the common cold, and sore throats. Here are a few nutrients found in onions:

  • Quercetin: an anti-inflammatory antioxidant that may benefit those with arthritis and is thought to play a role in preventing cancer
  • Chromium: helps regulate blood sugar
  • Sulphur
  • Fiber
  • Potassium
  • Vitamin B

In addition, onions scavenge free radicals, reducing your risk of developing ulcers. Raw onions are healthy for your heart because they encourage the production of good cholesterol (HDL). Onions can help heal and prevent infections due to their antibiotic, antiseptic, antimicrobial, and carminative properties. One onion per day is said to cure insomnia (not sure if I believe this).

A few more facts about onions:

  • They improve your digestive system
  • They increase the amount of insulin in your body
  • They are good for your teeth
  • They have rejuvenation properties on body tissues
  • They promote good memory and a strong nervous system
  • Consuming raw onions a few days before your menstrual cycle can cure menstrual problems
  • One serving = half an onion
