Tags

, , ,

unnamedAfter trying three flavors of refrigerator oatmeal (blueberry maple, pumpkin pie, and apple cinnamon), I’m even more in love with the stuff than I was when I first discovered it. My third experiment with the apple cinnamon variety is by far my favorite so far! Unsweetened applesauce and cinnamon are added to a base of oats, plain Greek yogurt, chia seeds, and almond milk). The applesauce makes this variety a lot thinner than the other two – and after some stealthy and somewhat confused observation I now get the question “Are you eating gruel again for breakfast??” from my boyfriend in the morning.

After much success with the original recipes, I decided to experiment with my own ingredients. I used the standard base with chocolate almond milk and added a tablespoon of PB2 powder and half of a banana (mashed).

WOW! Perfect consistency. The taste of peanut butter covers up that weird tang you sometimes get from chia seeds. I adore peanut butter, but I’m not a chocolate person. I tried this again with vanilla almond milk and it was much better. I next added PB2 to the applesauce variety (and omitted the cinnamon). All in all, this is a great breakfast any way you decide to make it.

