Tags

, , , , ,

 

Carrot SpaghettiWe’ve all heard about spaghetti squash – a great go to when you really want pasta but are trying to stay away from carbs. I personally haven’t tried it because I abhor squash. However, the idea of making “pasta” out of veggies sounded like a win-win to me. After browsing through lots of vegetable-based recipes on kitchenbug.com I ran into this one.

Mushrooms, onions, and garlicI’ll admit I was a little skeptical. I’m not a HUGE fan of carrots, but I couldn’t argue with the ingredients: mushrooms, onion, carrots, basil, and marinara sauce. Everything in that list is yummy and healthy, not to mention cheap, vegan, and paleo. I also added some garlic because I add garlic to just about everything. The recipe says to use a pan, but I used my little Rival skillet instead (image on right).

Carrot ribbons

You’ll find that carrot spaghetti is deceptively easy to make. I used a regular old vegetable peeler to ribbon the carrots. Things are bound to get messy on your first try, but once you’ve mastered the art of ribboning you can have this dish prepared in less than half an hour.

The first time I tried carrot spaghetti was less than a week ago and I’ve already made it three times! I absolutely LOVE this dish. And it’s surprisingly filling for a bowl full of veggies. This is definitely going to become a regular for me.

Things I changed:

  • I added 2 cloves of minced garlic while cooking the mushrooms and onions.
  • I covered the pan with a lid after I added the marinara sauce so that the “noodles” would be softer.
  • I added a little garlic salt at the end while garnishing with dried parsley.

All in all this is an awesome, healthy lunch recipe that I will be making often. Don’t let the weird appearance of orange “noodles” fool you – try it out for yourself and let me know what you think!

 

 

 

