Tags

cocoWhen someone follows my blog, I always make sure to check out his or her blog. This time it was nutritionist Stephanie Eusebi. Click here to visit her website.

It didn’t take me long to decide I should sign up for her emails. The first one I received included a recipe for Coconut Bliss Bars. Believe it or not, there are only four ingredients: eggs, vanilla extract, shredded coconut, and chocolate chips. I’m not a huge fan of coconut, but after reading about this fruit’s health benefits (more below), I decided to give this recipe a try.

coco2I definitely liked this recipe more than I thought I would. If you’re craving chocolate or something sweet (but don’t want to end up eating something like a pop tart), one or two of these bars will leave you satisfied.

My boyfriend loves coconut, so I used him as a test subject. He gave them a thumbs up and was surprised when I told him they contained no butter. All in all, these bars are a great treat or sweet breakfast recipe. If I make them again, I will double the recipe and spread a thicker layer of the mixture on the sheet before baking.

Some more about the coconut:

Early Spanish explorers coined the term “coconut.” “Coco” means “monkey face.” The coconut is called a “functional food” because it provides health benefits in addition to nutrition. Coconuts contain lots of fiber, minerals, and vitamins. The healing properties of coconut oil, known and used for thousands of years, have earned the coconut palm the title “Tree of Life.” Coconut oil has been used to treat minor issues like bruises and constipation all the way to more serious illnesses like STDs, bronchitis, tuberculosis, and dysentery. It has even been used to treat baldness and menstrual issues.

Coconut oil has recently made its way into Western popularity as a healthy alternative to vegetable oil (and as a skincare product). The fat in coconut oil is unique and does wonders for the human body. The fat molecules in coconut oil are composed of medium-chain fatty acids (MCFA) as opposed to the long-chain fatty acids (LCFA) that make up other oils. To make a long story short, our bodies respond much better to MCFA than they do to LCFA.

 

