Tags

, , , ,

pad thai 1I’ve always loved Pad Thai. Back in college I made a cheap version with shrimp or rode my bike down to Noodles & Co. for this yummy dish. I usually avoid pasta, but when I want some it’s either Pad Thai or Skyline Chili. My boyfriend and I are running in a Mud Run tomorrow morning and used it as an excuse to “carb up.”

I found the recipe for Veggie Pad Thai in Self Magazine. Be prepared, it takes awhile to make. From start to finish, it took me about 1 hour. If Pad Thai married a salad, this would be the child. I really liked it and it’s not as heavy as traditional Pad Thai – not to mention the recipe teaches you how to make a great Thai sauce from scratch!

pad thai 2The Ingredients:

Cooking spray

2 eggs, beaten

4 garlic cloves, minced (I used 6)

3 tbsp brown sugar

2 limes, zested and juiced (this step takes the most time)

1 tbsp light olive oil

1 tbsp hot sauce (I used Zombie Sauce)

4 tsp fish sauce (I used Thai Kitchen Fish Sauce)

8oz dry, whole-wheat spaghetti, cooked

1 pint Brussels sprouts, roughly chopped

1 red bell pepper, cored and thinly sliced

1 cup frozen edamame, thawed and shelled

2 cups broccoli sprouts (I used broccoli slaw)

1/2 cup cilantro leaves

1/4 cup dry-roasted, unsalted peanuts, chopped

The Recipe:

First, scramble the eggs and set them aside. In a large bowl, combine garlic, brown sugar, lime zest, lime juice, hot sauce, fish sauce, and half the olive oil. Whisk well. Add cooked pasta to the bowl and set aside. Add remaining olive oil to the skillet over medium heat. Add Brussels sprouts, bell pepper, and edamame. Cook 3-4 minutes, stirring, until pepper softens. Add veggies and eggs to pasta mixture. Toss well and divide among four dishes. Top each with broccoli sprouts, cilantro, and peanuts.

My advice:

IMG_8772Start the pasta going first so you won’t have to wait on it later.

This is a great dinner to make for friends, as it looks impressive but isn’t hard to make. I will definitely make this again when I find the time!

Let me know what you think of Veggie Pad Thai!

 

