Tags

, ,

This is my first time using sweet potatoes for anything! Let me start out by saying I don’t really like sweet potatoes or kale – but the photos I saw of the colorful, appetizing end product convinced me. Don’t start when you’re already hungry. Between the peeling, steaming, and baking, this recipe from The Balanced Platter took me the better part of two hours.  And I don’t have a steamer, so I had to get creative.

 

I didn’t hate these balls, but I certainly didn’t love them. It was a chore to finish them all up throughout the week. They are certainly easier to eat when you’re starving and they’re hot.

Below I’ve listed some of the health ingredients for sweet potatoes, kale, and flax seed in case you’re interested.

In addition to helping you regulate blood sugar, sweet potatoes contain the following:

  • Vitamins B6, C, and D
  • Iron
  • Magnesium (good for stress management)
  • Potassium
  • Carotenoids
  • And don’t forget they are cheap and versatile!

Kale is an anti-inflammatory, helps with digestion, and is a detox food. Kale contains:

  • Iron
  • 0 fat
  • Vitamins K, A, C
  • Antioxidants
  • Calcium

Grond flax seed contains:

  • Lignans
  • Iron
  • Omega-3 fatty acids

Did you know: King Charlemagne of Babylon cultivated flaxseed during the 8th century. He believed so strongly in its health benefits that he passed a law requiring his subjects to eat it.

